Magic: the Gathering Scholarship Series
2007 Magic Scholarship Series

  • Print

For 2007, Wizards of the Coast has redesigned the successful Junior Super Series program to better meet the desires and aspirations of our younger players. This redesigned program will be called the Magic: the Gathering Scholarship Series.

The format remains the same: Standard Constructed, the most popular Magic format. We still award $1,000 USD in college scholarships at each Scholarship Series event we run. We still invite winners to the Scholarship Series Championship, which awards $100,000 USD in scholarship prizes. We still give out great product prizes and run the events at stores throughout the United States and Canada. But instead of the age cap being 15 as it was under the JSS program, it has been raised to 18. Now all college-bound Magic players ages 18 and under can participate to win scholarships to college.

There are other cool new prizes as well: pens, deluxe school portfolios and satchels so you can go to class in style. The Scholarship Series will set you up for your school needs now, and help you prepare for your higher education in the future.

The 2007 Scholarship Series Winter Season starts in January, 2007. Each event offers college scholarships to both first and second place, plus a foil promotional card for all participants (while supplies last).

The 2007 Scholarship Series Spring Season starts March 11. First- and second-place finishers win scholarships, plus each participant will receive one new foil promotional card (while supplies last).

The No-Qual policy will reset for the Spring Season, so players can win scholarship money in both seasons.

The Scholarship Series is open to Amateur players age 18 and under, who have not won a scholarship by finishing first or second in a Series in the current season.

A detailed fact sheet and locations of events will be posted later in November.

Lost and Found
Did you misplace an item at the 2006 JSS Championship in Atlanta? We collect found items left behind at an event and keep them for 3 months. If you’ve lost an item at an event please email Cheryle Beck at with a description of the item.
2006 JSS champion Arthur Stewart.

Junior Super Series History

Past JSS champions
JSS champions Edward Solis, Mitch Towner, Jeff Garza, and Jeff Rabovsky.
  • Planeswalker Points
  • Facebook Twitter
  • Gatherer: The Magic Card Database
  • Forums: Connect with the Magic Community
  • Magic Locator