column

Shards of Alara Block Magic Online Release Events

  • Print
Author Image

Due to their unexpected popularity, the Shards of Alara Block Release events are going to be extended for one week and the championship is going to be expanded.

On Monday, January 18 at 9:00 am PST / 1700 UTC, the Shards of Alara Block Booster Pack (Standard) goes on sale in the Magic Online Store.

Shards of Alara Block Booster Pack Release Events begin Wednesday, January 20 and will have 4 components:

Booster Draft Queues
Swiss Sealed Queues
“Top 8” Draft Premier Events

In addition, we are expanding the championship event and adding on an additional set of draft queues as follows:

ALA Block Foil “Top 8” Premier Drafts
ALA Block Premium Foil Draft Queues

Shards of Alara Block Booster Draft Queues

DURATION: Wednesday, January 20 (after the downtime) – Friday, February 5, 10:00 am PST / 1800 UTC (last drafts start at 10:00 am PST / 1800 UTC).

LOCATION: 8-Player Draft room

PRODUCT: 3 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters

ADMISSION: 2 Event Tickets and the above product

PRIZE SUPPORT:

ALA Block Booster 3(1)-2(1)-1-1 Draft

Place Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters
1st 3 1
2nd 2 1
3rd – 4th 1 0

ALA Block Booster 4(2)-2(1) Draft

Place Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters
1st 4 2
2nd 2 1

For Swiss events, prizes are based on the total match points at the end of the tournament. Each match win awards 3 points and each loss awards 0 points.

ALA Block Booster Swiss Draft

Points Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters
9 2 1
6 2 0
3 1 0

Shards of Alara Block Booster Swiss Sealed Flights

DURATION: Wednesday, January 20 (after the downtime) – Friday, February 5, 10:00 am PST / 1800 UTC (last event starts at 10:00 am PST / 1800 UTC). Shards of Alara Block Sealed Swiss Flights are 4 rounds. Each event will have 16 players and will be run “on demand” – as soon as an event fills, another will open for sign-up.

LOCATION: Sealed Swiss Queues room.

PRODUCT: 6 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters

ADMISSION: 4 Event Tickets and the above product

PRIZE SUPPORT: Prizes are based on the total match points at the end of the tournament. Each match win awards 3 points and each loss awards 0 points.

Points Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters
12 7 4
9 6 2
6 3 0

Shards of Alara Block “Top 8” Premier Single Elimination Draft Events

DURATION: Friday January 22, 1:00 pm PST / 2100 UTC – Friday, February 5, 8:00 am PST / 1600 UTC (last event starts at 8:00 am PST / 1600 UTC). “Top 8” Premier Single Elimination Draft Events start every 5 hours. Each event will have exactly 64 players.

LOCATION: “Premier Events” room

PRODUCT: 3 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters, top 8 booster draft. The booster draft format will be 3 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters.

ADMISSION: 4 Event Tickets and the above product. The booster packs for the top 8 draft are provided automatically.

PRIZE SUPPORT: Prizes support paid as follows

Place Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters
1 14 6
2 11 4
3 - 4 7 3
5 - 8 4 2
9 - 16 3 1
17 - 32 2 0

NOTE: The regularly scheduled downtime will still take place on Wednesday, February 3. There will be no Premier Events starting from 12:00am until after the downtime on that day.

ALA Block Foil “Top 8” Premier Drafts

START TIMES: February 6 at 9:00 am PST / 1700 UTC, 9:15 am PST / 1715 UTC, 9:30 am PST / 1730 UTC, and 9:45 am PST / 1745 UTC

In addition, we reserve the right to add additional “Top 8” Premier Single Elimination Draft Showdowns if needed.

LOCATION: Premier Events room

SIZE: Each single elimination event will have exactly 64 players.

PRODUCT: 3 Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters, top 8 booster draft. The top 8 booster draft format will be 3 Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters.

ADMISSION: No Event Tickets, but above product required. The booster packs for the top 8 draft are provided automatically.

PRIZE SUPPORT:

Place Product Prize
1 2 Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) sets
2 1 Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) set
3-4 1 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) set
5-8 24 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters
9-16 12 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters
17-32 6 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters

All participants in the ALA Block Foil “Top 8” Premier Drafts will receive premium foil copies of the Shards of Alara block prerelease cards (Ajani Vengeant, Malfegor, and Dragon Broodmother.)

Still have some Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters left after the ALA Block Foil “Top 8” Premier Drafts? For 24 hours you will be able to draft them AND try to win your very own Premium Deck Series: Slivers deck!

ALA Block Premium Draft Queues

START TIME: Saturday, February 6, 6pm PST/ Sunday 0200 UTC – Sunday, February 7, 6pm PST/ Monday 0200 UTC (last drafts start at 10:00 am PST / 1800 UTC).

LOCATION: 8-Player Draft room

PRODUCT: 3 Shards of Alara Block (Premium Foil) boosters.

ADMISSION: The above product only (no event tickets required)

PRIZE SUPPORT:

Place Product Prize
1 1 Premium Deck Series: Slivers deck & 3 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters
2 6 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters
3-4 3 Shards of Alara Block (Standard) boosters

For all Shards of Alara Block Booster Release Events, Wizards of the Coast reserves the right to modify, reschedule, and/or delete any tournament if, in its sole judgment, tournament integrity has been compromised by an unforeseen technical issue.

  • Planeswalker Points
  • Facebook Twitter
  • Gatherer: The Magic Card Database
  • Forums: Connect with the Magic Community
  • Magic Locator