Event_Coverage

Pro Tour Magic 2015 Event Information


Portland Expo Center
Portland, Oregon, USA
August 1-3, 2014

The Pro Tour visits Portland for the first time in the history of Magic: The Gathering. Pro Tour Magic 2015 features the conclusion of the 2013-14 Pro Season and the debut of the new Magic 2015 Core Set on the premier-play stage. The top players from around the world will be in Portland to battle for fame, glory, and $250,000 in cash prizes in the Standard Constructed and Magic 2015 Booster Draft formats. There's not only prize money on the line—invitations to the World Championship and the national champion slot for countries participating in the World Magic Cup will also be determined by the end-of-season standings, making this one of the most dramatic events of the year.

The Pro Tour is open to the public, so come by to see the best players in the world up close and personal, meet members of Wizards R&D, and much more! If you can't make it to Portland, tune in for the three-day live webcast starting Friday morning for complete access to the Pro Tour: live match coverage, deck techs, behind-the-scenes interviews with R&D members, and much more!

The Sunday schedule will now show every Top 8 match in its entirety! You'll see every draw step, every play, and every key decision on the live video stream as these players battle for the title of Pro Tour champion, the $40,000 first prize, an invitation to the 2014 World Championship, and automatic advancement to the Platinum level in the Pro Players Club.



 

Viewer Information

Live Webcast
The live video webcast for Pro Tour Magic 2015 begins Friday morning and runs all three days. The live video stream can be found at wizards.com/webcast and twitch.tv/magic, with a full replay of each day starting approximately one hour after the end of the day. Check out the schedule below to find the start time in your area (start times approximate):

City Friday Saturday Sunday
Portland 9 a.m. 9 a.m. 10 a.m.
Los Angeles 9 a.m. 9 a.m. 10 a.m.
Chicago 11 a.m. 11 a.m. Noon
New York Noon Noon 1 p.m.
London 5 p.m. 5 p.m. 6 p.m.
Paris 6 p.m. 6 p.m. 7 p.m.
Berlin 6 p.m. 6 p.m. 7 p.m.
Moscow 8 p.m. 8 p.m. 9 p.m.
Tokyo 1 a.m. Saturday 1 a.m. Sunday 2 a.m. Monday
Sydney 2 a.m. Saturday 2 a.m. Sunday 3 a.m. Monday
Find other corresponding start times around the world here.

More Event Coverage
In addition to the live video stream, text coverage will be available at DailyMTG.com starting Friday morning, live chat sessions with players, R&D staff, and coverage reporters will take place at various times during the three days on CoverItLive, and video content will be posted to YouTube on the wizardsmtg channel.

The official Twitter hashtag for Pro Tour Magic 2015 is #ptm15.

Attending Pro Tour Magic 2015 as a Spectator

Information coming soon.

The Pro Tour Social Network
We know you’re a fan of Magic: The Gathering; now you can make it official! Check out Magic on Facebook: become a fan, find out about new updates to Magic and the Pro Tour, view exclusive photos, share your story with the community, and more!

Media Requests
Please send an email to press@wizards.com if you wish to set up a media credential for Pro Tour Magic2015. Wizards of the Coast asks that all media requests be submitted according to this schedule:

  • Video coverage: By July 4 (4 weeks prior to the event)
  • Non-video coverage: By July 18 (two weeks prior to the event)

Requests made after that date, including requests made on-site, may be denied.

Media check-in information will be announced closer to the event.



 

Player Information

Place Prize Pro Points
1 $40,000 30
2 $20,000 24
3-4 $12,500 22
5-8 $10,000 20
9-16 $5,000 15
17-25 $2,500 10
26-50 $1,500 6
51-75 $1,000 5
76-100 $0 4
101+ $0 3
Total $250,000  
Winner is awarded Platinum status in the Pro Players Club for the entirety of the 2014-15 Pro Season and an invitation to the 2014 World Championship.
Top 25 finishers also earn invitations and airfare to Pro Tour Khans of Tarkir in Honolulu. All prizes in U.S. Dollars. Prizes subject to change.

Pro Tour Magic 2015 is a three-day invitation-only Standard Constructed and Magic 2015 Booster Draft format event with a Standard Constructed Top 8.

Venue Information
Portland Expo Center
2060 North Marine Drive
Portland, OR 97217
503.736.5200
Map

Tournament Hall Hours for Players

To be announced

Format

The Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules and Infraction & Penalty Guide are in effect for this event unless specifically overruled by information in this Format Document.

Tournament Length

  • Day One will consist of 3 rounds of Booster Draft followed by 5 rounds of Standard
  • Day Two will consist of 3 rounds of Booster Draft followed by 5 rounds of Standard
  • 16 Swiss Rounds total, 55 minutes per round
  • When time is called, the active player will finish the turn and five additional turns will be taken
  • Stalling and slow play rules will be strictly enforced during the tournament.

Advancement

  • All players may participate in all 8 Swiss rounds of Friday's competition.
  • Players with 12 or more match points after round 8 will advance to Saturday's competition.
  • The Top 8 players after round 16 will advance to Sunday’s single-elimination playoff rounds.

Playoff

  • Playoff rounds will be Standard Constructed format
  • Playoff quarterfinal and semifinal matches will be best 2 of 3. The finals match will be best 3 of 5.
  • Standings after the Swiss rounds will be used to determine final order in the standings for losing players in the quarterfinal and semifinal playoff rounds.
  • While there are no time limits in the playoff rounds, players are expected to play at a reasonable pace and finish their matches within 60 minutes (for quarterfinal and semifinal matches) and 90 minutes (for the finals match).
  • For the first game of each match in the playoff rounds, the player that finished higher in the Swiss rounds chooses either to play first or to play second. For subsequent games in each playoff match, the usual Play/Draw rule applies (loser of the previous game decides whether to play first in the next game.)

Notes

  • Planeswalker Points Multiplier 12x (Lifetime Total only), REL: Professional
  • Players are required to use the same Standard deck for Day One, Day Two, and the Top 8 playoff
  • Players are responsible for knowing all DCI rules and high-level tournament rules.
  • Players are responsible for bringing their own appropriate counters or tokens.

Schedule

To be announced

  • Planeswalker Points
  • Facebook Twitter
  • Gatherer: The Magic Card Database
  • Forums: Connect with the Magic Community
  • Magic Locator